Band of the Week: Fitz and The Tantrums


Though Fitz and The Tantrums formed in 2008, I had not even heard of this band up until three months ago! I feel ashamed for not knowing about this wonderful group earlier, but you can’t possibly know about EVERY band…though I am trying to!

Now back to the band:  Fitz and The Tantrums is described as a neo-soul/indie pop band and the group formed in Los Angeles.  I typically play this band’s music while I’m in the car to make a car ride enjoyable, and when I’m with a group of friends – though I admit some of my friends have horrible tastes in music and typically say “What band is this?” when I play music, then go back to playing their Lil’ Wayne and Taylor Swift.  Not everyone can enjoy different varieties of music!  Nonetheless, Fitz and The Tantrums fits into different situations when music can be involved, very adaptable.

Lead singer Michael FITZpatrick (There’s the ‘Fitz’ for you!) has a lively voice that will be frozen into your mind it is so unique and wonderful.  It is one of the few voices I don’t mind being stuck in my head.  As for the Tantrums: Noelle Scaggs is a vocalist/percussionist, John Wicks is a percussionist/drummer, Jeremy Ruzumna plays keyboard, James King plays a slew of instruments (sax, flute, keyboard, percussion, and guitar – what a musician!), and last but not least Joseph Karnes on bass!

My three favorite songs by them are: Out of My League, Rich Girls, and The Walker.  Have a listen to these three songs or their other fourteen – you won’t regret it!

2 thoughts on “Band of the Week: Fitz and The Tantrums

  1. Pingback: Sexy Moxie Mama

  2. Pingback: Throwback: Fitz and The Tantrums | A Restless Affair: The music sponge

Comments are closed.