Hump Day: Why Does Gay Marriage Bother People So Much?


My first two Hump Day posts I wrote about actual humps (camels and native american burial mounds – read them too if you haven’t!), but today’s post and last weeks post concern topics that were in my head that I truly wanted to write about.  Don’t neglect the famous humps, though, because there are still countless famous humps that we can learn about (not counting lady humps!) and should continue to learn about.

Now to the actual post.

WHY DOES GAY MARRIAGE BOTHER PEOPLE SO MUCH?

Chris Kluwe’s book arrived at my house yesterday and I finally started reading it today (if you’re somehow reading this Chris: I’m only 30 pages in and I love it!).  It’s a thought-provoking book, with colorful words, and enchanting writing.  But what struck me as the most important part of the book (so far) was Kluwe’s letter to Maryland state delegate Emmett C. Burns Jr.  Essentially the letter figuratively tore Burns a part limb by limb, and filleted the delegate for trying to silence Brendon Ayanbadejo for expressing his support for gay marriage.

I have read the letter many times, and every time I get this warm feeling in my chest because of Kluwe stood up for something.  Not just something, but one of the many “issues” America is having at the moment.  Yet every time I read the letter I also get sad because Kluwe shouldn’t have had to write that brilliant letter.  We are in the 21st century and we are still limiting others rights based on things that do not affect our lives.

I just don’t get it.  What will happen if my cousin (who is a gay man) marries his longtime boyfriend Toby?  Will I catch the “gay” virus next family Christmas and start participating in homosexual acts? No.  If I attend a same-sex marriage, will I want to elope with one of the groomsmen? No, unless it’s Bradley Cooper.  If gay-marriage is legalized, will fabulous rainbows shoot out from the Earth and strangle every “good christian” until they’re gay? Jesus Christ, no.

SMALL TOWN BIGOTRY

Growing up in a small-town (10k~ population) bigotry is all around you and is perpetuated constantly; in school; in church (which I am glad I will never attend again); on the playground.  Everyone always makes a gigantic deal if someone in the town “comes out” and normally shuns them (if a boy) or claims it as an act of attention (if a girl).  In high school, I wasn’t strong enough mentally, or emotionally, to stand up for people being mocked for being gay, or for having gay slurs tossed at them, but I am strong enough now to where I won’t let that happen.  I won’t let anyone toss slurs at my cousin, at my close friends, at anyone that has that perfectly okay lifestyle, I just won’t.

I have tried to explain to hometown friends and hometownies that just because someone is gay doesn’t mean they are any lesser of a person and they’re just like us.  I am typically met with disapproving head shaking, “I don’t want to get into that stuff,” or that sympathizing with gays makes me worse than anything imaginable.  It’s hard to get through to people that are taught from day one to hate, which small towns do to people directly and indirectly.  To hate someone that’s different, just because they’re different.

I hope one day we can all just put behind us bigotry and all this hate we have for differences, and do something great, but my glowing optimism is waning every day.

One thought on “Hump Day: Why Does Gay Marriage Bother People So Much?

  1. Ironically I face the same discrimination–not because I’m gay but because I’m an atheist!

Comments are closed.