Thursday Thoughts: 5 Annoyances


I try my best not to get annoyed with the “little things” because you’re supposed to enjoy the “little things.”  But lately there have been things that really annoy me.  Specifically here are five things.

WHEN ARTICLES DON’T HAVE COMMENT SECTIONS

Like really, why doesn’t your website have a section for comments?  Even a section where you have to login?  I like to be able to read other opinions on the matter; maybe a commenter can provide a link to a story that has a different view, or a link disproving what is being posted; maybe I wanted to argue with someone (sometimes I just can’t help it on the internet!); or just maybe I want to see some funny comments said about the subject matter of the article.

I do, however, completely understand when there are no comment sections for controversial stories (such as the Casey Anthony Trial, or the Trayvon Martin Trial) because there is a good chance you’re giving some racist, or asshole, an even bigger stage to be a racist, or asshole, than on an article about a blender or folk music.

‘CANDID’ PHOTOS

I was on Facebook today (ugh, big mistake already) and I noticed a serial ‘candid’ photo taker’s photo’s were in my news feed. (In case you haven’t picked up on it I’m putting quotations around candid because they’re obviously not candid.)  This just bugs me because you look like a politician, it’s very plastic and fake to do this.  It may just be a silly pet peeve, but it just irks me when someone does this because you are not showing your real self (and I do realize that no one wants to put up ugly pictures of themselves, it’s just that you’re trying to make them seem candid photos when they are not at all.)

FILLING OUT AN APPLICATION FORM WITH THE SAME INFO MY RESUME HAS

Seriously, businesses, why do you do this?  I’m filling out your application picks out certain words or qualities that you want in a certain prospective employees, but why do I have to send in my resume as well?  It’s just asinine, especially because I know you’re probably not even going to read it even though it takes me roughly 25 minutes to finish one of your applications instead of less than a minute of me sending in my already finished resume.

Also side annoyance: STOP LEAVING UP JOBS THAT HAVE BEEN FILLED.

WHEN PROFESSIONAL ATHLETES DON’T EVEN TRY

I have been watching sports since I was a wee lad, and I have always been taught to “give it your all, every play.”  And I have lived by that, especially when playing sports.  So when I started to actually know what was going on during sports, let’s say age 10~, I began to get upset when Ken Griffey Jr. or Adam Dunn wouldn’t run down to first base.  I realize you guys are bigger (Junior didn’t use to be) and it takes more of your energy, but you running it out to first could make or break a game, make or break a season!  Just hustle because you’re getting paid millions of dollars to play a game.  I realize that this game takes up a large portion of your life, but millions of people would play for significantly less than you’re getting paid to do.

CREEPY GUYS THAT RUIN IT FOR EVERYONE

I know girls get hit on a lot, especially by creepy dudes.  (I have two sisters and they were constantly being hit on throughout Middle School and High School by interesting fellows, and they had an interesting assortment of boyfriends, but that’s beside the point.) What I’m getting at is, is that guys need to STOP BEING SO CREEPY.  Don’t instantly add a woman on Facebook because it shows you’re needy and she likely didn’t tell you her last name; don’t comment “so hot” “ur [sic] so stunning” “want 2 date?” on ANY of their pictures on ANY social media site because women that only like compliments about their physical build are no good (and you look creepy to all her FB friends!); and finally, don’t talk about overly sexual topics because, while sometimes sexual innuendo is funny, there is a line and you creepy guys usually cross it.

I’m saying this because it’s hard to give an honest compliment to someone anymore without that person believing you’re hitting on them, so just stop it.

2 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: 5 Annoyances

  1. Pingback: 10 Routine Annoyances | THE SCARECROW

  2. Haha great article! I love the creepy guys part, so true.

Comments are closed.