Documentary You Need To Watch: Hot Coffee


So I have been sidelined a bit with a trapezius muscle strain, and have felt a bit ‘foggy’ and ‘groggy’ in wake of taking some muscle relaxers and anti-inflammatory pills.  I will post a new ‘Band Of The Week’ tomorrow, along with the every Wednesday hump day post. Stay tuned for that.

(Also, I apologize if I spell anything wrong ,or use improper grammar on this post; not feeling the greatest!)

That red muscle is the trapezius muscle (commonly known to many as the 'trap') and believe me it hurts from the neck down to part of my back.  (Source: http://www.teachpe.com/anatomy/muscles/trapezius.php)

That red muscle is the trapezius muscle (commonly known to many as the ‘trap’) and believe me it hurts from the neck down to part of my back. (Source: http://www.teachpe.com/anatomy/muscles/trapezius.php)

Now while feeling like I could float away, but barely speak I watched an interesting documentary named Hot Coffee.  I will briefly describe the initial part of the documentary.

The documentary goes into detail about the infamous ‘old woman spilled hot coffee on herself; sues McDonalds; wins multi-million dollar lawsuit.’  I always thought this was an urban legend, a myth created by people that had a problem with the frivolous lawsuits in America that happen all the time (they don’t).

 

Her injuries were actually quite grotesque and could have killed her, and I urge anyone that is even slightly squeamish to not look at the picture of the elderly woman’s injuries.  I’ll just say, though, there is much, much more to it than the woman spilling boiling hot coffee on herself.  She did win the lawsuit, and was initially awarded $2.9 million (or $2.7 million – the film kept showing both figures), but was then reduced to a few hundred thousand because of a ‘cap’ on the amount of payment a person can receive through the lawsuit.  She needed that money to pay for medical expenses (skin graphs, likely pain medication, etc.), not to own a mansion, or a full-size pool.  That’s the part no one ever tells you about; they mention “Well she’s a millionaire because SHE made a mistake” and fail to mention the actual damage the boiling coffee caused her (Oh and fun fact: before this case McDonalds had over 700 complaints about how hot their coffee was).

The movie goes way more in-depth than I am here, and it reveals a[nother] problem in the U.S. government.  It opened my eyes and made me think much differently.  Hot Coffee will add different perspectives and food for thought.

One thought on “Documentary You Need To Watch: Hot Coffee

  1. Pingback: Chwomp | Netflix Hidden Treasures (To Me)

Comments are closed.