My Progress With The Acoustic Guitar


I have read in multiple mediums that posting about whatever project you are working towards (losing weight, quitting smoking, fixing your car, etc.) on social media will help motivate you as you strive towards your goals.  So here I am posting about my progress on learning how to play the guitar.

Previous experience with guitar:

I took a beginners course on guitar as a fun elective for my last semester of college, but it became one of the busiest semesters of my life.  I was bogged down with work, a major term project, and two group projects.  I know those are just excuses, but I decided that I would focus on the real schoolwork and eventually get to practicing the guitar when I got the chance.  I learned a few chords, as well as some tips on how to hold the guitar, and somewhat how to read music.  So it wasn’t a complete waste of time.

Currently I know the chords: A7, Am7, Am, C, D, D7, E, E7, Em, G, G7, and somewhat have the grasp on B7, Dm, and F.

My biggest problem is switching my finger placement between chords.  I can get them in the right place, but then I am either too far from the fret bar to create the correct sound, or accidently mute a string with one of my fingers.  I’ll get there though!

Guitar Info:

It’s an acoustic Fender Starcaster (bought October 2012) and looks just like the picture below.  It is a bit cumbersome, but I work around that the best I can.  The strings have never been replaced and I wonder at times that if I replace them then sound quality will improve.

I bought mine through Amazon.com and it came with five Fender guitar picks, a string replacement, and a manual tuner (though I bought an automatic one).

I bought mine through Amazon.com and it came with five Fender guitar picks, a string replacement, and a manual tuner (though I bought an automatic one).

Goal:

Being able to play one of my favorite songs acoustically.  That song would be Cute Without The E (Cut From the Team) by Taking Back Sunday. I can do the intro guitar riffs relatively well now, and I’m trying to move on to the chorus.

4 thoughts on “My Progress With The Acoustic Guitar

  1. Well at my initial stage its very difficult to play on guitar,but as time passes and keep practicing now i feel myself that i am much better..yay..!!!

    Picks for acoustic guitar

  2. Pingback: Chwomp | Guitar Rhythm Strumming Video

  3. Pingback: Guitar heaven? | Michaelwclark.com

Comments are closed.