Eminem – Berzerk


Yesterday I posted a mini preview of Slim Shady’s new song ‘Bezerk.’

Today I’m reviewing his new song as it’s played in full.

THE COME UP SHOW (EMINEM HOUR)

THE COME UP SHOW (EMINEM HOUR) (Photo credit: thecomeupshow)

The song immediately hits you in the face with aggression that is a signature of Eminem, and I truly like it.  It is, however, meant to be a party song with lyrics like:

Take your shoes off, let your hair down and (go berserk) all night long
Grow your beard out, just weird out and (go berserk) all night long

That’s my take on the bridge.  Here’s the first hook with NSFW lyrics:

We’re gonna rock this house until we knock it down
So turn the volume loud,cause it’s mayhem ’til the a.m.
So baby make just like K-Fed and let yourself go, let yourself go
Say fuck it before we kick the bucket
Life’s too short to not go for broke
So everybody, everybody (go berserk) shake your body

Again, it seems very much like a party song, but it can also serve as ‘pump up’ song.  That’s only the bridge and hook, though.

The rest of the song is typical Eminem rap, throwing in a few insults:

All I know is I fell asleep and woke up in that Monte Carlo
With the ugly Kardashian
Lamar, oh sorry yo, we done both set the bar low

That Khloe diss is pretty strong.

A few lyrics of him being judged by his wardrobe and brushing it off:

Guess it’s just the way that I’m dressed, ain’t it?
Khakis pressed, Nike shoes crispy and fresh laced
So I guess it ain’t
That aftershave or cologne that made them just faint
Plus I just showed up with a coat fresher than wet paint

I give the song a 7/10. Glad you’re back Eminem.

Typical Eminem stuff (I say typical but it’s still better than 90% of rap out there – so it’s still gold), but still it’s great for him to be back and I can’t wait for the full album (MMLP2 in case you don’t know) to drop in November.

Here’s the audio to ‘Berzerk’:

