Ten Pokémon I’m Not Too Fond Of


I’d like to preface this post by saying I don’t hate any particular Pokémon at all, there are just some that I like much more than others. These are just ten that I would likely never train in the games, or if they were real. Heh, I sound crazy hoping they were real. I will also not be including any Gen 6 Pokémon, or their forms.

Here are the ten Pokémon I’m not too fond of:

10. Zangoose

Gen 3 Normal Pokémon.

Gen 3 Normal Pokémon.

I’ve never been fond of the ‘Cat Ferret’ Pokémon, which is clearly just a mongoose.  It’s very bland in design and strikes me as a menacing creature.  There are menacing Pokémon I adore, but this one just makes me cringe every time I look at it.  And it’s normal type, which I’m not partial to at all.

9. Wigglytuff

Gen 1 Normal Type.

Gen 1 Normal Pokémon.

Here’s another normal type (soon to be at least part Fairy) that I haven’t been too keen on, even back when I was playing Red, Blue, and Yellow.  It’s very creepy looking with it’s oblong body, and it’s creepy rabbit ears.  Oh and those despicable eyes on this creature.  I don’t think I’ve ever willingly caught one of these, unless I needed it for dex purposes.  I don’t know many people that do like to use Wigglytuff.

8. Granbull

Gen 2 Normal Pokémon.

Gen 2 Normal Pokémon.

If you couldn’t tell, I’m not fond whatsoever of normal types.  Sorry if you are.  Here is Granbull the ‘Fairy’ Pokémon is it’s species, which makes many fans believe it will get the Fairy type when Gen 6 releases in October.  To me, it’s just that I’m not fond of it because it doesn’t really play a role in the video games, or the anime.  I don’t think I’ve seen Granbull, or its pre-evolution Snubbull, anywhere in the Gen 5 games. Maybe it’s because I’m not looking for them, but still I’d rather not have one.

7. Hariyama

Gen 3 Fighting Pokémon.

Gen 3 Fighting Pokémon.

Finally not a normal type!

There’s just something about Hariyama’s design that doesn’t appeal to me whatsoever.  I know that it’s relatively useful in game, but it’s just not a Pokémon I would want to have, or be caught having. It’s rather grotesque – okay now I’m going a little too far.  I just don’t like Hariyama.

6. Grumpig

Gen 3 Psychic Pokémon

Gen 3 Psychic Pokémon.

Man, where do I begin with Grumpig?  It’s just a very ugly psychic pig to me. It’s literally a pig with a different coloration, really springy tail, and three black orbs on it’s body.  Sure, and I guess, it’s bipedal, most pigs aren’t.  I actually thoroughly enjoy Spoink’s (Grumpig’s pre-evo) design and mechanics, but Grumpig is bland to me and doesn’t really scream Psychic type to me at all. I’ve always thought it should be Dark, or even Dark/Psychic.

5. Klinklang

Gen 5 Steel Pokémon.

Gen 5 Steel Pokémon.

The first Gen 5 Pokémon on this list, and man do I have a lot of issues with this entire Pokémon line, but I’ll stick with just it’s final evolution. It’s actually a good Pokémon when it comes to battling, because of the move gear grind and incredible attack/defense stats. Yet I just don’t get how it’s a Pokémon because there are no creature like features to it.  You can argue the little gear with a mouth and an eyeball open is where it’s brain is located and where it would eat, but I’ve never seen a Klinklang eat in the anime, so it’s just speculation really.

4. Probopass

Gen 4 Rock/Steel Pokémon.

Gen 4 Rock/Steel Pokémon.

My main issue with Probopass is the typing it received: Rock/Steel.  I can gather from Nosepass that it should be rock because it’s found in mountains, and it looks like carved stone (rock).  But what I don’t understand is how does Probopass not get the typing of Rock/Psychic? I realize that it doesn’t learn any psychic offensive moves, nor does any of it’s abilities lead one to believe that it’s psychic, but other than it being called the ‘Compass Pokémon’ where does one gather that it should be part steel?  Probopass just looks psychic to me and I don’t know why; possibly because it can levitate in the anime? (Yes I know anime canon = / = video game canon)

3. Palkia

Gen 4 Water/Dragon Legendary Pokémon.

Gen 4 Water/Dragon Legendary Pokémon.

Whaaaat? How can I dislike a legendary?

Simple.  The elongated neck, and appearance of fins are peculiar to me (I get it that it’s part fish).  The coloration of Palkia is also drab and just ‘meh’ to me. If it wasn’t for size and me knowing Palkia is a legendary, I would just see it as a weird Pokémon that I wouldn’t want.

2. Vespiquen

Gen 4 Bug/Flying Pokémon.

Gen 4 Bug/Flying Pokémon.

This just isn’t what I would expect from a queen bee Pokémon.  It’s rather fragile (mainly because of typing though), and it’s moveset is so dreadfully limited.  The design isn’t that superb and it’s just not something I would ever really want in my party.

 

DRUM ROLL PLEASE

 

Here is the Pokémon I am least fond of:

 

1. Exeggcute

Gen 1 Grass/Psychic Pokémon.

Gen 1 Grass/Psychic Pokémon.

These six eggs equal one Pokémon and it’s never been really explained.  I mean it’s a Pokémon because I’ve always known it to be one and I never really questioned GameFreak’s designs until much later on down the road. Even as a kid, though, I would never use Exeggcute because I didn’t really understand how it could be a Pokémon, but like I said I just accepted it.  Nope. Never used one, never will.

Disagree with my choices? Let me know why in the comments.

And again, I don’t hate any of these Pokémon, but I would prefer to never have them in my party, or even storage box.

One thought on “Ten Pokémon I’m Not Too Fond Of

  1. Pingback: Chwomp | Pokémon of the Week: Ditto!

Comments are closed.