What Musician (DoA) Would You Hang Out With If You Could?


Seriously, what musician (dead or alive) would you hang out with?  You two could go get some beers, head over to a concert to watch some young up and comers, you could go bowling, you could stay at home looking through all of your vinyls together, anything your heart desires. Who would you hang out with?

There’s a lot of great musicians to choose from (remember dead or alive – let’s assume that I have an awesome machine that brings people back to life, but only for hanging out purposes):

  • Jimi Hendrix
  • Jim Morrison
  • Trent Reznor
  • John Lennon
  • Jared Leto
  • Eric Clapton
  • Johnny Cash
  • Les Paul
  • Flea
  • Sheryl Crow
  • Karen Carpenter

And many, many more.  I apologize for the short-list, and not a more exhaustive one, but I would be here all day listing even a sixteenth of all the musicians that have graced this planet.

Of those listed, I would not select a single one as my one person to hang out with because, albeit they’re good, none of them are people I would waste my one chance to hang out with a famous musician.  My choice? Freddie Mercury.

Freddy Mercury Statue in Montreux, Switzerland.

Freddy Mercury Statue in Montreux, Switzerland. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Queen is one of my favorite bands of all-time and I have always adored Mercury for his vocals, lyrics, and overall his performances.  He is just a powerful human being that I believe would have such fantastic stories to tell about places he’s toured, people he’s met, stressful encounters he faced, and just how he exactly comes up with his lyrics.  I think he would be the most interesting person to have a drink with, or any activity really.  He always seemed to be himself, no matter how crazy it seemed or looked others, he was himself.  I love him for that because I struggle with that and would really love to get some insight on how he never let it get to him.

What musician would you hang out with if you could?

3 thoughts on “What Musician (DoA) Would You Hang Out With If You Could?

  1. Pingback: Chwomp | Johnny Cash – Hurt

  2. My list would be Kurt Cobain, Dave Grohl, Jimi Hendrix, Steven Tyler, Esperanza Spalding, and Lacey Strum.

    • I don’t know how I missed this comment! My mistake!

      I had no idea that Lacey Strum was the lead sing of Flyleaf – she has always been an interesting character to me as well in the music scene. Hopefully she does something great on her own.

Comments are closed.