Five Guilty Pleasure Songs


We all have one, or several, songs that we know are just poor pieces of ‘art,’ yet we can’t get enough of them. Typically it’s pop music, or anything played on the radio, but some of those songs just are so catchy and addictive that you can’t do anything to stop your like for them. It doesn’t have to be a song that is constantly played on the radio, though, and can very well be a really corny song from your favorite band, or least favorite band – yet you still enjoy it when you know you shouldn’t! It’s a great and sickening thing.

For those that don’t know what a ‘guilty pleasure’ is, here is the definition from the Oxford Dictionary:

noun

  • something, such as a movie, television program, or piece of music, that one enjoys despite feeling that it is not generally held in high regard.

Now that you’re up to speed on the definition here are my five guilty pleasure songs. Please include yours in the comments if you wish!

Note: Some songs will be NSFW, so listen at your own risk.

She Said OK by Big Boi

This is a very dirty song with no significance or meaning other than…well listen to it and you’ll see.

Larger Than Life by Backstreet Boys

I blame this one on having two older sisters in the 90s and early 2000s, but THIS SONG ROCKS! And the video is sick! Again, this song (like every boy band song) is pretty trivial in the grand scheme of music greatness.

 

I’m Blue by Eifel 65

Another popular song of my childhood that was played EVERYWHERE. It was Gangnam Style before Gangnam style, without the dance and over-the-top-everything. ‘I’m Blue’ had a bit of meaning behind it (depressing life, no friends because he’s different, etc. – really sad actually), but no one really ever thinks about the meaning of songs except music lovers.

 

Good Girls Bad Guys by Falling In Reverse

Another meaningless song, but catchy and pretty hilarious. Not a full fan of Falling In Reverse, but I enjoy this song (in secret).

 

Friday by Rebecca Black

I know. I know. You’re all ralphing in disgust over this one, but it became a tradition in University and I just couldn’t shake it. I only play it on Friday, however. Don’t judge me. (I probably wouldn’t watch this if I were you, definitely the most NSFW.)

 

What are your guilty pleasure songs?

