Album Review: Mayday Parade ‘Monsters In The Closet’


As I stated yesterday I would be doing an album review of Mayday Parade’s Monsters In The Closet. 

This is that aforementioned review.

Cover art for Monsters In The Closet (Photo Credit: Wikipedia)

Cover art for Monsters In The Closet (Photo Credit: Wikipedia)

I’ll preface this review by stating I have not listened to many older Mayday Parade songs recently, and am a casual fan of their’s, so I do not have a bias one way or the other for them. I’ve seen them live (Warped Tour ’12) and thought they were quality. I will also say that I have listened to the album on repeat several times (six or seven) without paying attention to titles, then I listened twice through while paying attention to which song was playing.

With that said, I am excited for this album because there are several songs from Mayday Parade that I enjoy and get excited for when my iPod shuffles to one of those songs. I love most pop-punk music, even if most pop-punk music caters to the ‘lovey-dovey’ pseudo-punk types. Let’s see if there are any songs on this album that will give me that same excitement!

Here are the songs (in order) that are on Monsters In The Closet:

  1. Ghosts
  2. Girl
  3. Last Night For A Table Of Two
  4. 12 Through 15
  5. The Torment Of Existence Weighed Against The Horror Of Nonbeing
  6. Even Robots Need Blankets
  7. Repent And Repeat
  8. Demons
  9. Sorry, Not Sorry
  10. Nothing You Can Live Without, Nothing You Can Do About
  11. Hold Onto Me
  12. Angels

To my knowledge there are no hidden tracks (yet), nor are there any bonus tracks garnered from special purchases through iTunes. This is it.

Photo Credit: Tom Falcone

Photo Credit: Tom Falcone

I will be giving my overall grade (on a scale of 1 – 10; 10 being the best) of the album at the end, but instead of reordering the songs into ‘best to worst’ order I will be using colors to visually demonstrate which songs I like the most, least, and the songs I am apathetic about.

If a song is green – I like it and will continue to listen to it daily; if a song is blue – It’s listenable, but not a favorite; if a song is red – I don’t really like it. I may expand upon the colors in the future to showcase a wide array of different feelings towards songs. I may include values (+1 or -1 for instance) to come up with a score for the entire album as well.

I will explain below why songs have been given their color.

  1. Ghosts
  2. Girls
  3. Last Night For A Table Of Two
  4. 12 Through 15
  5. The Torment Of Existence Weighed Against The Horror Of Nonbeing
  6. Even Robots Need Blankets
  7. Repent And Repeat
  8. Demons
  9. Sorry, Not Sorry
  10. Nothing You Can Live Without, Nothing You Can Do About
  11. Hold Onto Me
  12. Angels

Green Level Songs:

2. Girls
5. The Torment Of Existence Weighed Against The Horror Of Nonbeing
8. Demons

Explanation:

These songs are great and I truly enjoy them. I will enjoy them for a while too because these are the type of songs that I put on workout playlists, travelling playlists, and just my daily driving playlist. Each such evokes a weird, but terrific, emotion in me that I like to receive from listening to music.

Blue Level Songs:

1. Ghosts
3. Last Night For A Table Of Two
7. Repent And Repeat
9. Sorry, Not Sorry
11. Hold Onto Me

Explanation:

For the most part these songs are enjoyable and I will be giving them several more listens as the weeks pass by, but other than the occasional shuffle to one of these songs I won’t be going out of my way to listen to them. I also dislike the name of the song ‘Sorry, Not Sorry’ but really like the sound of the song. It put me in a quandary on whether I should rank it green or blue.

Red Level Songs:

6. Even Robots Need Blankets
12. Angels

Explanation:

Now being a ‘red level’ song doesn’t mean the song is bad, per se, but that I just didn’t enjoy it at all. And by ‘all’ I mean the lyrics, the song title, the music (instrumental) in the song, and the pace of the song (among other things). These songs just don’t do it for me at this point in time. As I have heard before: ‘Different strokes for different folks!’

Overall Grade: 6.5/10

Not a terrible album at all, but not an album that is groundbreaking or award worthy to be honest. There are some great songs on this album, ‘Girls’ is my favorite, and, who knows, I may come around on the others in due time! If you have a comment, good or bad, about my review please let me know why in the comment section! Thank you for reading!

5 thoughts on “Album Review: Mayday Parade ‘Monsters In The Closet’

  1. Pingback: Chwomp | Album Review: Taking Back Sunday’s TAYF10 Acoustic Album

  2. Pingback: Chwomp | The Best Of Chwomp: October Edition

  3. Their older songs are great too!! Hold Onto Me was a good song, and I liked The Torment Of Existence Weighed Against The Horror Of Nonbeing aswell.

  4. Minus the individual ratings because I loved Ghosts, I agree completely.

    • Thanks for reading! I appreciate it, Madeline!

      If there were a color between green and blue, ‘Ghosts’ definitely would have been in there.

Comments are closed.