Childish Gambino Pens Emotional Note About Leaving ‘Community’


Childish Gambino, known as Donald Glover when he is not rapping, recently left the cult-hit television show Community mid-season. His character, Troy, was a favorite of many ‘Communies’ (the name that Community fans have called themselves for some reason) and his character was a favorite of mine as well.  Troy appeared to be a dunce, but really he was just a young, naive kid trying to find his place in life and never had the love he needed/wanted growing up.  Childish Gambino is the alter ego of Donald Glover, but both Glover and his alter ego are spitting images of Troy; so this emotional note (more like notes, but it is a continuous note) shows the vunerability of Childish Gambino, Donald Glover, and even Troy.

Donald Glover as Troy Barnes in an episode of Community. (Source)

Donald Glover as Troy Barnes in an episode of Community. (Source)

Here is the the original link to the story, but thanks to a reddit user (nephrium) I will post what the note has written on it (there is/was an issue with the images loading on mobile and through different browsers).

Verbatim (and bullet point for readable):

  • IM AFRAID OF THE FUTURE I’M AFRAID MY PARENTS WONT LIVE LONG ENOUGH TO SEE MY KIDS
  • IM AFRAID MY SHOW WILL FAIL IM SCARED MY GIRL WILL GET PREGNANT AT NOT THE EXACT TIME WE WANT
  • IM SCARED I’LL NEVER REACH MY POTENTIAL
  • IM AFRAID SHE’S STILL IN LOVE W/THAT DUDE
  • IM SCARED ILL NEVER GROW OUT OF BRO RAPE
  • IM AFRAID PEOPLE THINK I HATE MY RACE IM AFRAID PEOPLE WILL THINK I HATE WOMEN I HATE PEOPLE CAN SAY ANYTHING I HATE CARING WHAT PEOPLE THINK
  • IM AFRAID THERE’S SOMEONE BETTER FOR YOU OR ME
  • I FEEL LIKE IM LETTING EVERYONE DOWN
  • IM AFRAID PEOPLE HATE WHO I REALLY AM IM AFRAID I HATE WHO I REALLY AM
  • IM SCARED PEOPLE WILL FIND OUT WHAT I MASTURBATE TO
  • IM AFRAID IM HERE FOR NOTHING
  • I FEEL THAT THIS WILL FEEL PRETENTIOUS
  • IM AFRAID THIS IS ALL AN ACCIDENT
  • IM SCARED ILL BE TYRESE
  • IM AFRAID DAN HARMON HATES ME
  • IM SCARED I WONT KNOW ANYTHING EVER AGAIN IM SCARED I NEVER KNEW ANYTHING IM AFRAID ILL REGRET THIS IM AFRAID THIS DOESNT MATTER AT ALL
  • I DIDNT LEAVE COMMUNITY TO RAP I DONT WANNA RAP. I WANTED TO BE ON MY OWN.
  • IVE BEEN SICK THIS YEAR. IVE SEEN A BUNCH OF PEOPLE DIE THIS YEAR. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME IVE FELT HELPLESS. BUT IM NOT ON THAT.
  • KEPT LOOKING FOR SOMETHING TO BE IN WITH. FOLLOW SOMEONE’S BLUEPRINT. BUT YOU HAVE TO BE ON YOUR OWN.
  • THE LABEL DOES’T WANT ME TO RELEASE IN DECEMBER CAUSE IT’S NOT A HOLIDAY RECORD AND IM NOT A BIG ARTIST. I STARTED THE RECORD LAST CHRISTMAS. CHRISTMAS ALWAYS MADE ME FEEL LONELY, BUT IT HELPED ME RESTART THE NEW YEAR. I WANT PEOPLE TO THIS ALBUM WHEN EVERYTHINGS CLOSED. WHEN EVERYTHING SLOWS DOEN AND QUIET. SO YOU CAN START OVER.
  • I GOT REALLY LOST LAST YEAR. BUT I CANT BE LONELY THO. CAUSE WE’RE ALL HERE. WE’RE ALL STUCK HERE.
  • I WANTED TO MAKE SOMETHING THAT SAYS, NO MATTER HOW BAD YOU FUCK UP, OR MISTAKES YOU’VE MADE DURING THE YEAR, YOUR LIFE, YOUR ETERNITY. YOURE ALWAYS ALLOWED TO BE BETTER. YOURE ALWAYS ALLOWED TO GROW UP. IF YOU WANT.

My god that was emotional to read because I share some of those same feelings and it isn’t easy to write about that type of thing. I completely sympathize with him and hope he finds exactly what he’s looking for in the future. I’ll always support you, Gamino.

One thought on “Childish Gambino Pens Emotional Note About Leaving ‘Community’

  1. Pingback: Mike’s Trailer Tuesday: Community – Season 5 (2014) | The Obsessive Viewer

Comments are closed.