Infographic: Grammy Winners For Album Of The Year By Genre


Below is a nifty infographic that I made using this website. I believe it is worth a look-see at the different genres that have won Album of the Year; granted the Grammy Awards normally neglect ‘good’ music (which is a very subjective term when describing anything) for more mainstream music, but there are several ‘good’ albums that have won Album of the year before. Click here to see the list of winners in it’s entirety.

This is a 'stacked' bar graph illustrating the Grammy winners of Album of the Year by their genres. The 1950s only has one winner because 1959 was the first year of the Grammy Awards; the 2010s only have four winners because it is only 2013.

This is a ‘stacked’ bar graph illustrating the Grammy winners of Album of the Year by their genres. The 1950s only has one winner because 1959 was the first year of the Grammy Awards; the 2010s only have four winners because it is only 2013. (Source for data)

I never would have guessed that Comedy of all genres would win an Album of the Year award, let alone two of them! I had a hard time deciding whether to conjoin Hip-hop/Rap, but I decided again it because each genre has separate qualities to it. It is also interesting to note the shift of music from the 1960s to now, as well as the  growing variety of genres for each decade of winners. If you have any questions about this infographic please let me know!

Note: Rap, Folk, and Rock have nearly the same identifying color in the above infographic, but Rap has won a total of 0 Album of the Year Award. I just placed Rap in this graph to show the breadth of music genres (and the above aren’t even all of them).

Note 2: In the 2010s, I selected the Taylor Swift album Fearless as being ‘Pop’ instead of ‘Country’; it could be argued that the album deserves one genre over the other, I apologize for not making that clearer in the original post.

9 thoughts on “Infographic: Grammy Winners For Album Of The Year By Genre

  1. Nice blog dude

    But I didn’t understand the graphics 😦 hehehe…
    Only taking into account the 2010s winners should be Country, Rock, Soul or Pop, Folk and you have Rock, Pop, Folk and Soul… However I’m probably mistaken and not reading the legend right

    • Thanks for the compliment!

      The Taylor Swift Album ‘Fearless’ is the album in question, right? Though Swift began as more of a ‘Country’ singer, ‘Fearless’ began her transition into the ‘Pop’ genre. It may have been more of me seeing her and the album as more as ‘Pop’ than ‘Country’ because that album could have been considered ‘Country.’ I should have made note of that in the blog post, and been clearer about that. Thanks for catching that.

    • Not quite
      Swift is labelled as rock; Arcade Fire as pop; Adele as folk; and Mumford & Sons as soul.

    • Hmm.

      I think we may have different definitions for genres. I think Adele could be Soul/Pop, Mumford & Sons as Folk/Rock, Arcade Fire as Rock, and Swift as Pop/Country. I’m basing it off the albums, however, not just the artists/bands themselves.

      If you use the Grammy website to search for the bands and artists they don’t turn up with those genres: http://www.grammy.com/nominees/search?artist=&field_nominee_work_value=Fearless&year=All&genre=31

      *There is no folk or soul genre option, though.

    • This is what I see in the graphics
      2010: Taylor Swift is in red (Rock) either Country or Pop
      2011: Arcade Fire is in dark blue (Pop) should be rock (red)
      2012: Adele is burgundy (Folk) should be light blue (soul)
      2013: Mumford & Sons is light blue (soul) should be burgundy (folk)

      There are other mistakes in the colours… But like I said. It’s probably me who is not reading the charts right

    • Oh my goodness I misunderstood you from the start. I apologize for being daft! (Trying to multi-task!)

      I should have pointed out in that where the genre falls in the decade does not correlate with the actual year. To go further, it’s just a total for the decade not just 1990 1991 1992 1993 etc. The total for each genre’s winners will be stacked together (in each decade) to make it easier to count the winners of said genres. If that’s not clear enough, let me know.

    • Oh Ok… Now I got it… and now I can understand the graphics… hehehe…

    • Sorry for the confusion!

      I will be better about explaining the graphics better in the future!

  2. Pingback: Chwomp | The Best Of Chwomp: October Edition

Comments are closed.