Album Review: Taking Back Sunday’s TAYF10 Acoustic Album


It’d be great if you followed the blog on Twitter and Facebook, and if you became a follower on WordPress. It’d be wonderful if you told your friends about us too!

I figured that I really needed to get back to the roots of what this blog is really about and that is ultimately music. I love music, there isn’t a day that goes by where I’m not listening to music, and I would literally want to die if I could not listen to music for a significant period of time. It’s a serious love and I’m in it for the long run.

Today I will be reviewing Taking Back Sunday’s TAYF10 Acoustic Album that was released this past June. It has the same tracks as the original Tell All Your Friends (with the inclusion of ‘Your Own Disaster’), but the tracks are live and acoustic versions of the songs giving some of the songs new life in a way. If you have not bought this album yet (for shame!) you can buy it here, and I highly advise taking the deal that includes the documentary! It’s enlightening and wonderful if you’re a big TBS fan like me.

Now onto how I will be scoring this review (very similar to how I scored Mayday Parade’s newest album (Monsters In The Closet)):

I will be giving my overall grade (on a scale of 1 – 10; 10 being the best) of the album at the end, but instead of reordering the songs into ‘best to worst’ order I will be using colors to visually demonstrate which songs I like the most, least, and the songs I am apathetic about.

If a song is green – I like it and will continue to listen to it daily; if a song is blue – It’s listenable, but not a favorite; if a song is red – I don’t really like it. I guarantee you there will not be a single red song from this album, even an objective reviewer would agree. I will be adding purple to the list as well; purple will be for my favorite song on the album.

This is going to be a HUGE task for me to determine which songs I like more than others because I really do love all of these songs for what they are, but I will do my best to try to take away my subjectivity from the review. Here is the tracklist before I score them:

  1. You Know How I Do
  2. Bike Scene
  3. Cute Without The ‘E’ (Cut From The Team)
  4. There’s No “I” In Team
  5. Great Romances Of The 20th Century
  6. Ghost Man On Third
  7. Timberwolves At New Jersey
  8. The Blue Channel
  9. You’re So Last Summer
  10. Head Club
  11. Your Own Disaster

Before I begin coloring these brilliant tracks, I must say that Taking Back Sunday is my favorite band of all-time and it will come into play with every single song on this album and I cannot help it. As aforementioned I will do my best to be as objective as possible, but it is not likely. This is one of the few times when reviewing music where my ‘fanboyism’ will come into play. I’d be hard-pressed, however, to find someone that did not at least mostly agree with me on these songs since they are that spectacular and nostalgic. Okay, enough with that here we go.

  1. You Know How I Do

  2. Bike Scene

  3. Cute Without The ‘E’ (Cut From The Team)

  4. There’s No “I” In Team

  5. Great Romances Of The 20th Century

  6. Ghost Man On Third

  7. Timberwolves At New Jersey

  8. The Blue Channel

  9. You’re So Last Summer

  10. Head Club

  11. Your Own Disaster

 

Purple Level Songs:

8. The Blue Channel

Explanation:

Instead of going for the uber popular songs, I latched on to ‘The Blue Channel’ not to be a hipster, but because ‘The Blue  Channel’ is my favorite song off this album by far. So much emotion from Adam and John in the acoustic/live incarnation, especially when John screams and elongates ‘I’ll still wait for your call.’ So many good feels; so much emotion. Gets me every single time I listen to it. Superb song.

(One would think a song named ‘The Blue Channel’ would be in the blue level!)

Green Level Songs:

1. You Know How I Do

2. Bike Scene

3. Cute Without The ‘E’ (Cut From The Team)

7. Timberwolves At New Jersey

9. You’re So Last Summer

10. Head Club

Explanation:

I could write paragraph upon paragraph on each of these songs, but I’ll be brief. Each song here has a different inherent meaning behind it (though you could blanket define them with ‘relationship’), and a magical feel to each of them. ‘Cute Without The E’ live is something everyone needs to experience, but if you can’t/haven’t this live version suffices and does TBS justice. It’s fantastic. Several of these songs the band has the audience participate (well the audience participates regardless) and it adds to the live aspect of the album because the fans are passionate about the songs, the lyrics, the band that it resonates with you more than just a studio version of the song. Incredible songs, and a nice touch bringing back Michelle to sing Bike Scene and Ghost Man On Third.

Blue Level Songs:

4. There’s No “I” In Team

5. Great Romances Of The 20th Century

6. Ghost Man On Third

11. Your Own Disaster

Explanation:

Just because these songs are in the ‘blue level’ does not mean they’re bad songs at all! They just aren’t my particular favorites from this album, but I always listen to them when they come up on my iPod. I just did not get the same goosebumps that I get from the live version of ‘There’s no “I” in Team” as I do from the studio version from a decade ago. I have the same sentiment towards ‘Ghost Man On Third.’ I actually love this version of ‘Great Romances Of The 20th Century’ but there was just something about the live version. After having the album for several months, I still cannot put my thumb on what it is exactly, but it bothers me slightly each listen.

Red Level Songs:

None!

Explanation:

All of the songs on this album are incredibly listenable.

Overall Grade: 9/10

I am sure Taking Back Sunday knew it would be difficult to top one of their best albums in Tell All Your Friends and I believe that they have hit the nail on the head with TAYF10 Acoustic. It’s a fun album, especially for avid fans, and each song has a different sound (some greater than others) than the original studio album songs. I recommend this album to: fans of Taking Back Sunday, fans of the early 2000s punk rock/alternative rock scene, and people that enjoy acoustic songs in general.

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Album Review: Taking Back Sunday’s TAYF10 Acoustic Album

  1. Pingback: Chwomp | Album Review: The Weeknd – Kiss Land

  2. Pingback: Chwomp | Most Boring Album of the Year, Saved (Partially) by Two of the Most Interesting Rappers Alive

  3. Pingback: Chwomp | You Can Preorder TAYF10 DVD Now

Comments are closed.